5 Tips for Young Guitar Players

If only I had known…

When I was a young guitar player (for me, that was around 14), I had NO idea what I was doing.

I started my first band with some friends around 8th grade. We were…well, at least good for our age. We attempted to be a blend of Creed, Rage Against The Machine, and P.O.D…and it kind of worked? (if you’re into that sort of thing)…All that to say, I was working with some pretty lame gear and a serious lack of knowledge, down to the point of not knowing which direction I should plug into my pedal chain (input means IN, right?).

Fortunately, I was surrounded by some guys who were smarter than me and helped me along the way. Although it was embarrassing to have my drummer set up my pedals at every show, I learned some important things being around people like him (Thanks Sparky).

There are a few simple things I wish I had learned earlier in my guitar-playing career. I have a desire to help young bucks who, much like me, could probably use some no-brainer tips to help them settle into the world of music with as little embarrassment as possible.

Here are 5 tips (+ 1 freebie) that should help you come prepared for the “gig”: 

Floor tuners are great for on-stage, and function as a “mute” button as well. Perfect for tuning during a song w/o being a distraction.

1) Bring a tuner – and use it.

Don’t get caught with an out-of-tune guitar. Tune before rehearsal, before you perform/play, and in-between songs (when appropriate and timely). Believe it or not, your guitar will go out of tune between uses…even if you just tuned it yesterday!

2) Have spares on hand. 

A ¼ inch cable, picks, strings…be prepared for the unexpected cable malfunction or D-string bust (that happened to me during worship this last Sunday!).

3) Get your guitar worked on a few times a year.

If you are using your guitar in more than one location on a regular basis, it will probably experience some wear and tear. Constant transporting and room temperature changes inevitably affect intonation and playability. Find a good luthier (guitar-fixer-guy) and ask for a set-up. They run on average between $35-$70, depending on what you need done, and they’ll get your battle axe playing like a magical unicorn harp in no time (isn’t that what we all want?).

4) Don’t store your gear in a cold place.

Your cold garage is no place to store gear. I’ve made this mistake in my early days, and it seriously messed with my gear. Cold environments produce an uncomfortable environment for a freshly set-up guitar (or amp). Room temperature is the way to go.

5) Learn your instrument. Play your instrument. Love your instrument.

There is always room to grow. Find creative ways to learn your instrument and continue to improve. You’ll never run out of things to learn, and you’ll enjoy overall playing in the long run (you’ll probably find more opportunities to use your gifts too).

6) An important freebie: LESS IS MORE. 

You know that guy that wants to incorporate every Metallica lick he’s ever learned into worship songs? Yeah…don’t be that guy. Your worship leader will probably try their best to be nice and give you “suggestions” on how to play, but you’d be better off learning ahead of time that keeping things simple and supporting the song is better than being a featured instrument. Keep it simple, and contribute to the whole.

What have you learned/are you learning along the way? What are some tips for young musicians could use to better their craft? Share your thoughts below!

4 responses to “5 Tips for Young Guitar Players

  1. Best way to learn how to play worship songs on guitar online. Easy to follow step-by-step process.Very affordable compared to private lessons.

    learn how to play worship guitar
    learn to play worship guitar
    learn to play worship songs on guitar
    learn to play worship songs on guitar online

    You can learn guitar at your own pace. I learnt guitar by paying $50 per hour. which was out of my budget and then after few sessions, I had to quit. But then My friend suggested me to learn guitar online and referred me – http://howtoplayworshipsongsonguitar.com/ . Which was quite interesting and reasonable. Now I write and play worship songs on guitar..

  2. I drop a leave a response when I especially enjoy a article on a blog or if I have something
    to add to the conversation. It is triggered by the fire displayed in the article I browsed.

    And after this article 5 Tips for Young Guitar Players | Broken Beautiful Worship | A
    Blog for Worship Leaders and Ordinary Worshippers. I was actually
    excited enough to drop a thought :-P I do have a couple of
    questions for you if you don’t mind. Is it only me or do some of these comments appear like they are coming from brain dead visitors? :-P And, if you are writing at additional online social sites, I’d like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post.
    Would you list the complete urls of your social pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin
    profile?

    http://www.wikisym.org/ws2011/profile_bethhaleysxcco

  3. I just like the helpful information you supply to your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and test once more here regularly.
    I’m somewhat certain I’ll be informed many new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

What do you think? Leave a reply.

