5 Things I Learned In 2012…

…that probably saved my life.

Mayan Art

2012 was a stretching year for me. Whether being pushed harder than ever in ministry, cramming to finish my degree, or juggling a smattering of family/personal obstacles, I’ve learned that trusting Jesus in the midst of the storms of life is not easy. All that to say…it’s been well worth it – and a GREAT year.

Here are 5 random things I’ve learned this year:

1) The Mayans were wrong.

Phew. I’m glad to still be here!

2) I am capable of doing things I never thought I could do.

Overcoming challenges and fears are always nerveracking…here are a few things I attempted this year that didn’t kill me:

  • Led worship while playing lead/electric guitar at the same time. Granted, I simplify lead lines GREATLY, but it still pushed me.
  • I went back to school. Technically, I returned to college in 2011…but almost 2012! After completing 2-years of a BA several years ago, I spent some time working, touring with a few bands, and getting married. NEVER thought I’d actually get around to finishing. Honestly didn’t think I had it in me. Welp, I was wrong! Less than a year left…we’ll see what comes after!
  • Attempted a few stage designs for our church’s auditorium. I’m not a handyman by any stretch of the imagination…in fact, don’t even think about giving me a hammer unless it’s to break something for fun. My church encourages creativity in various ways, one being stage design. I guess that’s the “arts” part of my “Worship & Arts” title! I’m realizing I actually enjoy seeing a stage come to life!

3) You simply cannot please everyone.

Ever had someone tell you that the music is too loud? Too quiet? To contemporary? Too old school? Yeah…me too. It’s ok though…the church is filled with diverse people who appreciate a wide variety of music styles and volume levels. I honestly do my best to set the table for as many people to engage in worship as possible, but it doesn’t always work that way. My dad (aka “The Italian Stallion”) reminded me of an old quote from a former, well-respected US president:

“You can please all of the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot please all of the people all the time.”

-Abraham Lincoln

4) I actually like reading. A lot.

I read a lot for school, but I also got through a few “me” books as well. Our society is so distracted by things that take place on screens that we often forget to pick up a good book.

Side note: best book I read all year was called Dealing With The Rejection and Praise of Man by Bob Sorge. I honestly think this is one of the most important books I’ve ever read as someone semi-fresh in ministry. Every pastor should read this if you desire longevity in ministry. Seriously.

5) Planning Center Online is a thing of beauty.

I know it’s old news to most worship leaders…but I’m just going to say it again. I LOVE scheduling my teams and gatherings in PCO. Not only is it the best way to keep track of musician’s schedules, but confirmed dates are updated in real-time. Distributing charts, MP3’s/YouTube videos, and gathering elements becomes extremely simple. I could go on…I’m just super stoked on it (still).

What did you learn in 2012? What do you hope for in 2013?

5 responses to “5 Things I Learned In 2012…

  1. I learned that it is wise to ask questions first before spouting off my opinion on a matter. It’s better to ask a lot of questions, especially if you are the new guy, than to be ready to offer your opinion quickly. When you ask questions first, people might even ask for YOUR opinion, when jumping in opinion first usually turns people off.

What do you think? Leave a reply.

